Bully

My 1911 Build!!!

Well, I sent the loot in a couple of weeks ago for my frame/slide kit from Fusion (fusionfirearms.com). I ordered a 5" Slabside kit with a full dustcover frame. They are fitting the slide to the frame, the barrel, and sending along a slide stop and main spring housing, both in stainless. Since I'm the impatinent type, I also ordered a couple of things from Brownell's with a gift certificate that I won on m1911.org. I got a Wilson Combat extended mag release, the catch and spring to go with it. I also ordered a stainless pin set and a titanium firing pin and extra strong spring for it. The firing pin was backordered, but the total came to just under 100 bucks with shipping. It all (minus the f.p.) showed up the other day. I am looking forward to the challenge that is coming even though the heavy fitting is done. I have never attempted anything like this, but I know that it's gonna be fun.

First things will be to de-horn the frame. Also, I will be attempting to fill in the front strap checkering that comes with the frame. I am considering silver solder, but may opt to just sand it down. I need to have it in hand to judge the thickness and see if there will be enough material if I go the sanding route.

Again, I don't know what the hell I am doing so any constructive criticism will be very welcome. Pics will be posted shortly.

C

001.jpg

Also, I will be attempting to fill in the front strap checkering that comes with the frame. I am considering silver solder, but may opt to just sand it down

It's your gun, but I just wondered why you'd want to get rid of the front strap checkering. That usually enhances the grip and adds to the cost - you've paid for it and want to eliminate it - enlighten us.

Adios,

Pizza Bob

It's your gun, but I just wondered why you'd want to get rid of the front strap checkering. That usually enhances the grip and adds to the cost - you've paid for it and want to eliminate it - enlighten us.

Adios,

Pizza Bob