Teky0101

FRM/GMRS Radios - GMRS License

Hello Everyone,

I am new to radios but my family and I recently renewed our NRA memberships and received $25 dollar Bass Pro Gift Card as a promotional. While looking over their website we came across a "Uniden Two Submersible/Floating 50 Mile Range FRS/GMRS Radios With 2 VOX Headsets And 2 Carabiners" which we went together and ordered. The radios went 50 miles and were waterproof which seemed impressive! After doing some research I realized that the long range radio only works using GMRS radio frequences which require a license from the FCC to operate. I was wondering if anyone has experiece with obtaining the licenses and if so was it hard to obtain and did it take a long time. Also what is your experience with the range of your radio? Also does anyone known a Uniden Radio and if so do you like the model you own?

I believe the licenses are $35 and should cover the whole household and have to filled out on the FCC website. No tests or anything. Might take a few weeks to get the license.

I never bothered with GMRS, I think ham radio is a better deal but there are tests involved. FRS is great in that no license required, anyone can use it and has fair coverage up to a mile. CB is still useful in some areas, but that is another topic.

I have a ham radio licenses the tests are not bad a lot of common sense the hard part is remembering what mhz the meter is and some weird laws there are lots of books and a battery operated 2meter will cover far with.out a repeater frs is lucky to be on 1 watt power gmrs maybe more my mobile in my car is 75 watts

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk 2

I was a member of a Club that had a GMRS Radio repeater system. Very close to UHF Ham 440 Band and to the older UHF Police Band. Simplex (single frequency, line-of-sight) communications are very clear, unless someone is also on the same frequency. UHF doesn't like foliage, so don't think that you're going to get max range in the woods.