westerner

Buying First Gun Used - Good Idea?

Hi. I'm new to the world of firearms and recently received my NJ ID card and 1 handgun permit.

Since the handgun permit is good for 90 days, I'm looking to get that first.

My primary objective is home defense. I have a preference for revolvers due to reliability, something like a S&W 38 special would do.

I've read that used S&W revolvers can be a good buy. Do you need to be an expert in order to know if a given revolver is in decent condition? Should I look at internet sales?

Thanks

If youre looking at a used revolver, their are a few things that you can do to check its condition. First make sure the cylinder is locked into position and see if it has and play/rotation while its in its locked position. also check for any endshake by trying to move the cylinder forwards or backwards. You can check for flame cutting, which is common in some guns, by looking for erosion of the top strap, right above the forcing cone.

Wait for pizzabob.

A Smith and Wesson 686, a double-action revolver w/ a 4" barrel, and maybe in stainless, would be a nice gun to get, especially if you are not planning on practicing too often. A Ruger GP100, or even a Ruger SP101 w/ a 3" or 4" barrel would be a nice alternative. For a home defense gun a 4" barrel would probably be about optimum, however, a 3" barrel might give you more versatility. If you get the SP101, I would consider getting aftermarket larger size Hogue grips for it. Something like a Taurus 66 revolver would also be a nice option.