JoeTK37

9mm Ammo choices

I'm brand new to this and not entirely certain what route is best to take.

It seems most shops are pretty low on the choices for 9mm and stocking(or only have at the current time) primarily the lighter 115gr and 124gr.

I understand the firearms themselves, and differences in grain weight and the affects, but what brands/models are total crap(for lack of a better term) and what is decent. I'm only looking for something for the range, I'm ok with the lighter weight/lower recoil and not totally concerned with pinpoint accuracy for the first few hundred rounds I shoot.

Right now I've got a box of CCI Blazer Brass 115gr and Federal American Eagle 124gr FMJ, both of which may be garbage but they seemed the better of the choices at the shops I stopped in today, granted prices were a bit high.

So if you're heading the range to practice and work on technique what are you shooting?

Personally I shoot whatever the range has in stock that's least expensive. I'm a relatively new shooter though so I am also learning the ins and outs of ammo among other things. At home for defense purposes I have a mag loaded with Hornady Critical Defense, 115 grain. I'm planning on switching to Hornady Critical Duty 135 grain +P when I can find some.

Joe,

CCI and Federal are both quality manufacturers. The Blazer and American Eagle ammo brands are great for range use. Personally I stay away from Remington UMC as there have been some issues with the assembly of their cartridges. PMC also makes quality ammo, but has been scarce lately.

I really haven't run into 'crap' in 9mm, at least not the way I have in .22LR (I'm looking specifically at you, Remington 'Golden' bullets), but it may be because I only buy brass-cased FMJ 9mm.

I think I've shot most of the 'cheap' 9mm through both my glock and CX4 including Remington UMC, PMC, Federal American Eagle, Magtech, Blazer Brass, Independence, Aguila and Sellier & Bellot and all of it was fine for range use.