Sign in to follow this  
anactivegrenade

Best Slugs For Expansion and Pentration

For penetration I like the Brenneke Special Forces Short Magnum (12ga 2 3/4").  I was issued these on the North Slope of Alaska for Polar Bear protection.  Brenneke also makes a Special Forces Maximum Barrier Penetration slug that I have no experience with.  I don't really use slugs based on expansion because they are plenty big enough.

Brenneke's offer great penetration. Foster's do as well. Foster's tend to change shape more than Brenneke's upon impacting bone. Foster's in my experience retain most of their weight after traveling through flesh and bone. I think the "hollow-point" that is molded into the nose of the lead Foster slug is a superfluous gimmick. I suspect Buckhammer's offer good penetration but I never tried them. I've not used sabot's either but some that use light HP bullets may offer less penetration than the others mentioned under some conditions. Those that use sabot's swear by them for their accuracy potential and they do offer extended shooting range with the right gun.

As for "expansion," 12 ga. slugs exit the bore at .700 caliber. Why would you need more expansion than that?

Some recovered 1 oz. slugs of mine from deer next to an unfired Foster slug for comparison. I found that broadside hits with early 7/8 oz. Foster slugs that were first available back in the 70's to slugs weighing an ounce or more always penetrated completely on whitetails. Just my experience, others may have had different results. 

RecoveredvsUnfired.jpg

L-R4282grs-4178grs-439grs.jpg

What type of creature are you shooting at where this is a concern? I have never hunted with anything other than sabot slugs and they have all gone through and through whitetail deer.

Jon,

What sabot's do you use now? I may go to a rifled barrel someday and want to explore my options. 

Jon,

What sabot's do you use now? I may go to a rifled barrel someday and want to explore my options.