71GTO

Two permits and I could use advice

I am new to handguns my head is spinning already from all the information and opinions out there. I have been to a range and rented a few times. The last time I tried guns I was specifically looking to buy. I applied for two p2p. My first gun I was looking at a 9mm. These would be for the range and HD. I rented a beretta 92fs. A 3rd gen glock 17 and an m&p 9m. The beretta was the one I liked best. It was new and that is what I shot best with. The glock didn't really get a fair chance since it was apparently so dirty it jammed every few rounds. Also, I would have preferred to try a 4th gen 19. I did not like the grip at all and I thought the were always supposed to work. The m&p was nice too, but I was already partial to the beretta. I have read a lot on this gun and it seems to be a reliable good gun. I'm still up in the air on getting the standard black or an inox. I have seen some people claim to have issues with both finishes. Has anyone one had any experience with which finish is more durable. I don't plan on beating either one up, but I would like to keep it nice.

My Dilemma is the second permit. I would like a higher caliber gun to get practice with. I was thinking trying out a glock 22 4th gen, an m&p .40, an s&w 686. I'm looking for some recommendations. I was leaning towards a revolver maybe for the hd roll since it is simple and should always work. Any opinions or information is appreciated.

You like the Beretta, get it. With literally tons of 92FS out there you are bound to come up with a few with minor issues.  Don't sweat it. 

Try & get an Italian made INOX, not the American version. That's what I would do.

A revolver? That's a no brainer  GP100 or 686, just have to decide on caliber, stainless or blued, & barrel length.  Before anyone jumps at me, there are 327 mag versions for the gp100.