Sign in to follow this  
ReadDude

CCI #11 Magnum Percussion Caps

So, I am pretty new to Muzzle loading. I have a hand-me-down T/C New Englander in .54 cal.

I also had handed-to-me, some Pyrodex P and I obtained some Pyrodex RS for the gun.  So far both shoot just great (reliable and somewhat consistent groups), although the P is a bit cleaner.

Now, the question. The gun came to me with a tin of very old Remington #11 Percussion caps that are running out. They have been reliable as long as the primer stayed in the cup. about 25% of them lost the primer! I think they are pretty old (maybe 15 years old)

So, I found some CCI #11 Magnum Percussion Caps.  Are these a reasonable primer for the New Englander using Pyrodex?  I can't seem to find any definitive statement on good or bad.  it just seems they are "more flame".  Would this mean a bit more pressure/fps on the round or just more likely to ignite the powder?

As you can see, I am learning.

Smokin' .50 -> I do hope to get out to OBRC one weekend as this black powder is getting under my skin quickly, but calendar is not letting it happen quite now!

BTW, I just remembered that there was a previous topic with this name from MosinRob, but it seems we never answered the question "Is there reason to not use the #11 Magnums?"

I shoot cci #11 magnums and remington #11. I can tell you from personal experience there is no difference. They both work the same in my guns. I also have cci#11 regular as backups incase I just couldn't get them and they shot the same too. I've only used the regulars once but the rems and cci mags i've shot hundreds with no problems and same results. Hope this helps you bud. Old bridge NRA muzzleloader qualifier in two weeks. I'll be there, stop by.

Depending upon who you talk to, some folks feel that the "magnum" caps aren't necessary for regular black powder.  I'm of the opinion that it really doesn't matter (just like Rob above) and here's the proof: