Sign in to follow this  
Purple Patrick

*review* ontario blackbird sk5

Alright everyone I thought id put this review out there because so far I LOVE THIS KNIFE. I was looking for a really tough blade that could take some abuse and of course kill zombies and prevent Alien anal probes. I first saw this knife in the last issue of RECOIL in their survival knife article and really loved the simplicity of the design and the features of the blade. I work outside at our garden center so I wanted something razor sharp but sturdy enough to be used for a variety of tasks. I haven't had a chance to really break this knife in besides opening a few boxes and pruning some flowers but this will be my go to woods knife. I'll give you guys alittle break down.

Blade: it's a 5" blade made of 154cm, now what that means idk as I am no blade expert(yet) but reading about it it's a super hard steel that can be sharpened to a razor edge with alittle but of effort. I haven't yet needed to touch the edge up but I'm buying a sharp maker soon to assist me. The blade and handle are perfectly balanced in my hand and is not overly hefty. I really really like how this feels in my hand.

Handle: it's a linen micarta handle that fills my large hands nicely but is nice an grippy if your hands aren't as large as mine. It has a nice smooth texture but your hand can get a good purchase on it. It had a nice sized lanyard hole and supposedly is very easy to fashion into a spear.

Sheath: this is one of the main reasons I got this knife. The sheath had a belt loop and also is molle compatible. The 3 way snap button is adjustable for how much retention you want. I got the molle strap off and have been using a black hawk speed clip to attach it to my belt at the 4:30 position for concealibility and ease of draw.