Hey guys.  I recently got a great deal on a SIG 516 upper, with the caveat that it comes with an A2 flash-hider.  My current LMT AR just has a plain barrel, so I have no experience with brakes of any kind.  Will adding a brake make it louder than a plain crown barrel?  Can anyone give me a comparison between the following?  I'm hoping to see the Pro's and Con's for each

* YHM Phantom brake/comp

* PWS FSC556

* Troy Medieval

* DPMS Miculek brake

Thanks!

I have the YHM Phantom on my AR, it's definitely louder than a standard crowned barrel.  Things I dislike about it: It's a grey color, doesn't really match the "black rifle" image.  2. it annoys people shooting next to you because they get hit with the air blast.  Other then that, I love it.

I have a miculek and a dynacomp. I like them both. I well say the miculek is more efficient as far as recoil mitigation and muzzle flip but its god awful loud and has huge side blast. Personally I dont care about the blast but some people do :shrug:

FSC556

Keep in mind that the ability of a break/comp to fulfill the shooters expectations is very subjective. What I think works best with my particular rifle with my shooting style, my grip, my ability to control recoil, etc... may be the result of a very different interpretation of the effectiveness of a particular break/or comp that you experience.

There are a few that are proven by most people to work - for example the BattleComp, PWS556, BCM Comp - but you will be hard pressed to get 3 shooters to agree on which is best amongst them.

For example, I like the PWS FSC556. Others prefer the BC, or the Troy Claymore or Midevil, or the Spikes, or the Knight's TripleTap. We would all agree that they all work, but we would argue about which is best.