boo

Gun for Hire Urban Pistol 1 experience

Thought I'd write up my experience taking Gun for Hire Urban Pistol 1 last night. 

My background: I've been shooting for just under 6 months, but have a certain comfort level with handguns given a 3,000+ round count so far. Previous training includes a 4hr Intro NRA course, private instruction with Jimmy at GFH, and also Low Light 1 at GFH. I really wanted to take Urban Pistol 1 back in October, but my FID/permits hadn't come in yet and they had to adhere to their policy of no rental guns during the class. I've also dabbled in a couple action pistol type events, though none formal, and both firing only while stationary. I'd add that those events helped a lot to increase comfort with holster drawing and having range safety procedures ingrained.

If you're interested in this class, I suggest you check their site regularly and not wait for it to be announced in their e-mails. It fills up and reaches capacity fairly fast.

I noticed the instructors, Bill and John, haven't been mentioned in past reviews, but it's my understanding that both are now largely responsible for firearms training classes. Both are experienced with long list of credentials, including firearms training, of course. Bill comes from NJSP, while John is with Woodland Park PD.

Topics covered during the class included:

1. proper stance

2. holster drawing technique, shooting from the holster

3. scanning, assessment, and movement

4. reloading in your "workspace", combat vs tactical reloads 

5. hip shooting to a target an armslength in front of you (there's a name for this, but I forget)

6. firing from kneeling positions

7. one handed shooting and one arm reloads, both strong and weakhand

8. moving with a loaded gun (position "sul")

9. turning 90/180 degrees and shooting

10. shooting on the move