Bully

30-06 Recommendations

I'm beginning the search for a bolt action 30-06 rifle. I'm looking for recommendations on what to buy as I have no experience with the round. I'm looking for recommendations on everything from manufacturer to barrel length and twist. Also, glass... no solid idea on what to put on top of one.

I'd like to stay around or below 800 bucks, without scope. Hopefully I can stay well south of that.

This won't be a heavily used gun. I'm looking for a rifle to hunt but I wont be trekking through the woods for untold miles, just hiking to a stand. I will use it at the range for plinking but not extensively. I may try and hit steel at 1-300 yards if I get the time. If not no problem for me.

I prefer wood. Generally I like laminate for stability and looks but walnut/other hardwoods will suffice. I will consider synthetic if it makes more sense.

I would like to stay away from the bargain bin guns. My friend has a Ruger American and it shoots well, however it's not what I'm looking for. I like "pretty" guns. The unfortunate conundrum of champagne taste on a beer budget.

Also, I do reload, and I reload 300BLK, so I have the bullets already. It will help keep costs to a minimum.

I've seen the Mossberg 4x4, shot the Ruger American, and really like the CZ offerings but am seriously in need of help. Thanks in advance.

Christopher

Look at the Savage line.  Out of the box the most accurate rifle you'll find JMHO!

Scope I'll show you $250 Jap glass that can't be beat for hunting.

I suggest the Savage 10/11 and 110/111 series as well.  IMO stay away from the Savage Axis, it's on a par with the Ruger American.  The Savage will get you equal quality to the Rem 700 at a lower cost.  Some people like the AccuTrigger, some don't, there are older models on gunbroker etc that do not have the AccuTrigger.