Pizza Bob

OGAM - We're Being Lied To

When I was doing the research for the FPID / P2P Application Process thread, I wanted to make sure that I got the OGAM part of it correct. TJ called me on it based on what we have all been told, but looking at the statute, we have been being told incorrectly all along.

When OGAM first went into effect, there was much wailing, consternation and gnashing of teeth as to how long one actually had to wait between purchases. The NJSP let it be known to the dealers that day one was the day after you took possession and that you could purchase again on day 31. That is pretty much been the rule we have all been going by, and while I have no first hand experience, I imagine the NICS folks - who are used to enforce the 30 day thing - go by the same thing.

Now let's look at the actual statute...

2C:58-2,a(7) A dealer shall not knowingly deliver more than one handgun to any person within any 30-day period.

The magic word here is "within" - that word denotes inclusiveness. In other words the initial sale is included within the 30 day period. So we start counting on the day we take possession, not the day after. Once we hit 30, we can take possession again the following day. Just so we don't have to take off our shoes and socks to count, we'll use a month with 30 days in it. Let's assume that we take possession of a handgun on April 1st. By the statute you should be able to take possession of the next handgun on May 1st. You have taken delivery within the 30 day period that is April. The next allowable purchase could be made May 1st. If you take possession of another handgun on May 1st, you have not taken possession of more than one handgun in a 30 day period.

This is one statute that seems pretty clear, so where did this (actually) 31 day program come from?

Am I missing something?

Adios,

Pizza Bob