Sign in to follow this  
NJGF

Soft Shooting Semi-Auto Shotguns

I am interested in a soft shooting semi-automatic shotgun for competitive shooting. Is there a noticeable difference in felt recoil between different models? I have read that the Remington Versa Max Competition Tactical is one of the softest shooting shotguns. Would it be noticeably softer than the Benelli M4 Tactical, Beretta 1301 Competition, FN SLP, or Mossberg 930 JM Pro?

Last year my range did a "Lady's Day" where women of all ages and experience levels could come to the range and try a variety of guns. As a shotgun instructor I got the shotgun range. The club provided CZ 20ga semi auto shotguns in the youth size. I was impressed with these guns, very low recoil and easy to shoot. I had a 80 something woman who had never touched a gun before handle the shotgun and shoot it without difficulty.

Haven't shot the Rem Versa Max, but I've got an 11-87, which is extremely soft shooting (especially when you add on the Remington Supercell Recoil pad).  That being said - it's not a great gun for 3 gun compeition.... If it's for trap/skeet competition, that's fine... 

all the gas operated ones? 

I'm by no means even close to pushing the envelope on shotgun skills, but they are all soft and fast, especially if the benchmark is a pump gun. 

Fit is going to play a role in how each gun feels.  But your decision should be based on reliability and ease of loading.  Those are the 2 areas that make or break shotgun 3 gun shooting. I would go either Benelli M2, not the M4 or the 1301.  Both are great shotguns, and both shoot differently.  Try as many as you can before you buy

What kind of competitive shooting?