otebear

Looking for a pistol range - some requirements

I've been doing skeet and trap for a few years, and I recently tried a revolver at Gun for Hire. I'm looking for a revolver range in northern NJ, preferably in or near Bergen/Essex/Morris county, with the following requirements:

-outdoor (couldn't stand the fumes and sound at the indoor range)

-allows minors

-(optional but preferable) rents guns

-has instruction, supports beginners

Are there any ranges that fit these requirements?

Thanks.

Depending on what indoor range you go to, there really shouldn't be that much fumes with a good ventilation system. If you haven't tried RTSP, it would be a great alternative to the outdoor being they have everything else you're looking for. I'm an RO there and can be inside the range for hours on end, no fumes issues at all...especially on the pistol range(range 2). As far as sound, double up on ear protection, foam then muffs and you'll be good to go. We also do "intro's" for first time shooters, etc etc. I don't know of any outdoor ranges round these parts that also rents guns...good luck.

The only place that meets most of your criteria is Cherry Ridge in Vernon/West Milford.

-outdoor (couldn't stand the fumes and sound at the indoor range) Yes, outdoor range with pistol, rifle (100yd), high power rifle (200/300 yd), shotgun, and archery

-allows minors Yes, but must be 12 or older for handguns

-(optional but preferable) rents guns Nope. You'd have to go to RTSP or Woodland Park for that

-has instruction, supports beginners Yes. ANJRPC offers several bassic courses at the range