Lalo

Public range to shoot hard drives

I work in IT and over the past few months we refreshed a lot of our older workstations with new ones. The old machine chassis were donated/recycled but the hard drives have to be destroyed. This year instead of sending them out to be destroyed or taking them to a shop to have someone take a drill press through them, I want to use them as targets.

Are there any public ranges in NJ that allow people to shoot "junk"? Obviously would clean up the mess, etc.

I've done this once, with a shotgun slug.

However, since then I've learned a bit more about how materials behave and I would recommend against doing it, unless you are doing it from very far away. Crap can fly back at you.

I recommend a heavy hammer and some cold beer in the backyard, it will be more therapeutic.

office-space.jpg

Yeah I have a few chassis left over too. Usually whatever is not picked up for recycling I end up chucking out the fire escape from the second floor into the dumpster. Printers are fun too, except when you miss the dumsper and it crashes into the parking lot...

However, since then I've learned a bit more about how materials behave and I would recommend against doing it, unless you are doing it from very far away. Crap can fly back at you.

Yeah I wouldn't shoot anything like this unless it's at least 25 yards or more.

Here's how we didi it in the sandbox:

IMG_0239_zpsc846319f.jpg

IMG_2009_zps35149607.jpg

That's just awesome! Would love to do that but here in NJ, DOUBTFUL.

Lalo I actually buy them for scrap metal. Pm me if your interested.

Thanks Chris, I'll keep that in mind. I'd have to drill a hole through them first but that's no fun.

I'd much more prefer to line them up at 100yds and blow a hole through them with the AR!