efd162

1st build...please help

Im relatively new to the ar platform. Im going to attempt my first build. I have been doing some research, but im torn on what to do as far as barrel options. Should I get a complete upper or build it from the ground up. Im kinda leaning towards the later. I like the idea of building the "entire" gun myself. Im not in a hurry, and I think I would enjoy the experience. I have the stripped lower already and putting my list of goodies together for that build. The upper is what's killing me. With that said, any input on barrels and gas blocks and other parts along with an upper ofcourse.

Building the upper is no more difficult than assembling a lower.  Just make sure you have the right tools. The following is the same advice I gave another 1st time builder here just a couple weeks ago.

If there is only one piece of advice I can give you, it's this.  Build your rifle around the barrel.  First figure out what kind of rifle you want, more to the point, what is the rifles purpose in life.  Is it home defense, competition, hunting, just a few fun weekends each year at the range breaking shit or some other purpose? 

A short light barrel (14.5" with muzzle device to bring it to 16+ inches) will get you out of most bad situations in tight spaces.  A heavier 16" barrel will do the same as the aforementioned with more endurance.  If you want better accuracy look into Wylde chambered barrels, If you want to shoot longer ranges without having a big long honking barrel an 18" heavy bbl can help you reach out and touch something.  If you tend to neglect your firearms get a stainless steel bbl.  If you want to shoot rodents at 400 yards a 20" or longer heavy or bull bbl is the ticket.  If you are going to overspend on anything, it should be the barrel.  The best trigger, laser, scope or stock wont help much if the barrel is shit.