marty0330

Informing Employees

I'm new to the forum.

I own a revolver (S&W 357 special) which I use for range shooting and home defense.  

I decided to keep it in my office (loaded) in a file cabinet drawer which is locked when I am out. I'm a dentist.

Do I need to inform my employees (3 women)?

Thanks...

No, there is no obligation to inform your employees. It may be judicious to do so, but there is no obligation. You are making yourself responsible for your employees well-being. Make sure that you are proficient with that revolver.

BTW - it is .357 Magnum or .38 Special, unless there is some new caliber of which I am unaware.

Adios,

Pizza Bob

That makes it a "plus" or "+"

And it's the cylinder that holds 7 rounds. If you have 7 rounds in the barrel, you have a big problem.

I hope that you are taking this in the spirit intended - just kind of poking fun. However, on a more serious sidenote, your unfamiliarity with the nomenclature leads me to believe you may be as unfamiliar with the gun itself - I know that may be a stretch, but when it comes to using a defensive handgun, one can never be too familiar. The 686 is a fine firearm.

Adios,

Pizza Bob

The 686 Plus is a great revolver. The "plus" indicates that the cylinder holds one more round then the standard 686. As you know you can shoot either 357 magnum loads or .38 Special. If you are planning on keeping the gun loaded, I would certainly keep the file cabinet locked at all times. See the Youth Handun Safety Act.

Welcome to the forum.

9X19--

If I keep the cabinet locked at all times, my access to the firearm would be significantly reduced.

I am assuming that if no one knows it's here, and it's in a bottom drawer under papers so that it's not visible, but easily accessible, then it would be OK.

Am I supposed to be concerned about its being stolen while I'm in the office?