sushiweed24

trying to buy first gun p2p from out of state

I'm a 21 year old with a clean background but I'm a little confused on some legal issues regarding purchasing my first gun.

I'm a New Jersey resident, working in Alaska for the summer. I've been looking on Alaskaslist to purchase a handgun from a private dealer. But I know New Jersey has some strict laws on bringing firearms to the state. I was wondering if it's entirely legal for me to fly a handgun from Alaska to New Jersey after buying from a private dealer. 

thanks

You can't buy a handgun in Alaska if your a NJ resident and take possesion of it while in Alaska. Federal law prohibits it. The dealer or person would have to ship it to a NJ FFL and then you would have to go to the NJ dealer with your Permit to Purchase a handgun, Drivers license, (Most dealers will also require your Firearms Purchasers ID also). and then fill out all necessary paper work in order to take possession of it.

Bottom line is you can pay for it in Alaska but can't take possession of it in Alaska only in NJ

1. Handgun purchases by

....A. NJ resident from

........(1) NJ dealer = NICS check with a P2P and Photo ID

........(2) NJ resident = face to face with a P2P with Photo ID suggested

........(3) Out-of-state dealer = must be transferred through NJ dealer - Refer 1A(1)

........(4) Out-of-state resident = must be transferred through NJ dealer - Refer 1A(1)

....B. Out-of-state resident from

........(1) NJ dealer = must be transferred through buyer's home state dealer

........(2) NJ resident = must be transferred through buyer's home state dealer

2. Long gun purchases by

....A. NJ resident from

........(1) NJ dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID

........(2) NJ resident = face to face with a FPID, COE with Photo ID suggested

........(3) Out-of-state dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID

........(4) Out-of-state resident = must be transferred through