sof

223/556 recoil

Starting the upper project and following devils4ever thread and realized that I've never shot an uncompensated 223/556. So, what would you say the recoil is most like? Maybe you could compare it to a .308 bolt action or a 20 gauge shotgun as those are calibers/guns I can relate to. If not name the one they are most like.

I will be building or buying a 20" 1:8 twist upper to shoot 100-300 yards with 55-75 grain mostly. No hunting or varmint shooting, just paper and while I may never shoot any competition I'd like to be able to if it gets to me. Not sure if I'll put irons on it or not, most likely I will as I enjoy giving it a go at 100 yds.now with my other 223. The comp is definitely not a necessity, but I tend to think I'd like one as it's not uncommon to shoot 400+ rounds in a day and I don't want recoil making it a chore.

I've shot both comp an uncomped never really noticed much difference. No where near 308 or a shotgun

Same here. I started shooting M16s in 1968 and have fired probably several hundred thousand rounds through M16s, ARs, and M4s. I don't have a comp on any of my ARS and have no interest in putting one on any of them. Most people IMO put on comps for cosmetic not practical reasons.

Same here. I started shooting M16s in 1968 and have fired probably several hundred thousand rounds through M16s, ARs, and M4s. I don't have a comp on any of my ARS and have no interest in putting one on any of them. Most people IMO put on comps for cosmetic not practical reasons.

Some are effective at reducing muzzle climb which is useful for quick follow-up shots which impact competition times (and have tactical applications). Others are purely cosmetic,IMO.

So then, I've read where a comp will harm accuracy and I've read where it will enhance it. Is it just a matter of staying on target or are there other factors?