GlastonburyNative

1911 vs. HK45C vs. the world

I was ready to buy a p226 or p229 or p30 9mm with my remaining permit (and still am).  However, I was given the chance to shoot a 1911 commander today and enjoyed my time with the .45 acp.  I have been trying to justify staying with one caliber and currently own a DA/SA and striker fired handgun in 9mm.  This next purchase would serve as another range gun and carry option when I cross over to Connecticut.

So, what would you guys choose between the hk45c and the Colt O4012XSE?  Knowing I still have a desire to stick with one caliber, would any of you recommend the 9mm options I'm looking at over these two handguns?

I'm eyeing up the no-frills Colt Commander myself. 

It seems a bit big for CCW though. It is only 3/4" shorter than a full size 1911, I would consider a 3" Colt Defender which is also on a shorter frame as well. Everyone should own a 1911 regardless.

Im no expert but when I was reviewing 1911's for ccw it seemed the shortest barrel length that still offered 100% reliability was 4.25". Thats why all the higher end brands dont offer 1911s in shorter barrel lengths. So anything under that like the 3" defender would be a no go for me.

I will say that even a commander 1911 is a hefty piece to carry and that should be a consideration.

Of the two I would take the hk45c to carry for sure. Lighter weight, great ergo, accurate.

That being said I love 1911s and an ed brown kobra carry stainless is going to be purchased when my next batch of permits are in. Will I carry it? No I live in NJ and I have a shield to carry in free states.

I'm going to skip the caliber debate. Rang gun pick whatever tickles your fancy. But for carry, reliability is a key factor. Picking between an HK45c or the stock Colt, the HK would get my vote. Keep in mind I am a 1911 guy! Not a fan of short 1911's. I can live with a high end build in a 4" but nothing shorter.