Kingsoverqueens

Anyone else find this overwhelming?

Considering my first AR.

Building is obviously and option, but I'm a noob.

I don't understand the vernacular.  All you guys talk in acronyms.  

As an example, I figured out what a BSG is, but still don't fully appreciate what it does, and the why and how of what it does affecting the performance of the firearm.

I've read some of the threads including the AR for Noobs stickied at the top.

I'm really torn with just buying a colt or M&P 15 off the rack and calling it a day.

I'm OK if you point and laugh. 

: )

Why don't you get with someone from the forum that has some experience with an AR and have them show you the ropes. You can also find someone else who wants to build an AR and build them together to help each other out. Some ranges have classes you can take that basically walk you step by step on how to build an upper and lower and they provide the tools. The whole thing is really not that difficult at all. If you're not sure of your skills, then you can just put the lower together and buy a complete upper.

There is also nothing wrong with not wanting to do that and just picking up an AR off the shelf. The Colt LE6920/40 is a very popular one if you're planning on not making any changes to it. If you're planning on getting a different stock, grip, better trigger, etc, then you'll probably save money if you build it.

KoQ, ask and we'll do our best to answer.  I don't consider myself an AR expert, but I started from knowing zilch about them to doing lots of reading online and then assembling my own.

Plenty of people here, including me, will be happy to answer any questions you may have (and also launch into tangent arguments....)

KoQ,