Lalo

PA to NJ Private Sale Clarification Needed

Friend of mine who is a PA resident owns a rifle I'd like to purchase. Can I meet him at a PA FFL and have them do the transfer to me inside PA or Does that transfer need to happen inside NJ by a NJ FFL? I'd like to avoid the cost of having to ship the rifle to NJ. I understand in PA, private sales don't need to go through an FFL. Being that I'm a NJ resident, I can't just use a COE and DL correct? How do NJ people purchase guns at PA gun shows?

What are my legal options?

^as long as the rifle is NJ legal (compliant)

When buying at gun shows we use FFL's to do the transfers and they have been framilar with NJ laws and usually have COES on hand.

Federal law requires you to use a ffl for sales between residents of different states.

2. Long gun purchases by

....A. NJ resident from

........(1) NJ dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID

........(2) NJ resident = face to face with a FPID, COE with Photo ID suggested

........(3) Out-of-state dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID

........(4) Out-of-state resident = must be transferred through

............a. NJ dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID or

............b. Out-of-state dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID

....B. Non-resident from

........(1) NJ dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID

........(2) NJ resident = must be transferred through

............a. NJ dealer = NICS check with a FPID, COE and Photo ID or

............b. Out-of-state dealer = consult buyer's home state laws

Some PA FFL's (e.g. Sarco) sell long guns regularly to NJ residents so they are very familiar with checking the FID and filling out the COE.  The process is actually smoother because PICS is much quicker and only $5 versus NICS.

Preferably, I would think you want find an FFL who is familiar with the NJ process.  Search the GB FFL Network (http://www.gunbroker.com/FFL/SearchForFFL.aspx?st=State&sv=PA) and call around.