TonyS.

Optimum Load(s): When am I there?

Loading newbie here. Just a few days ago I got my Hornady LnL AP setup, cleaned up, and dies installed. I've not adjusted the dies yet due to time constraints....hopefully next week I'll be able to do it. So after reading and reading and reading the past 3-4 months about reloading I believe I have a good grasp on it, yet there's one thing that I haven't seen talked about. Knowing when your loads are optimal for the gun you're using them in. I have an STI Lawman .45acp 1911 and I'd like to eventually get into USPSA. For now I'm practicing at a 25yard bullseye range. How or when do I know I've gotten to that optimal load for my gun? When it's shooting the tightest groups at an amount of recoil I can deal with and the velocity (or power factor) I'm looking for, while not blowing up the gun/barrel? Thank you.

You said it right there... "When it's shooting the tightest groups at an amount of recoil I can deal with and the velocity (or power factor) I'm looking for?"

For my 1st 20 years shooting I never really cared about power factor -- It just didn't matter how fast the bullets where traveling to put a hole in a target

My optimum loads where when the tightest group formed shot from a sandbag

Luckily, My optimum load makes major -- but for 20 years it just didn't matter

Do not just use this posted load -- It is just what works for me -- It may not work for you -- always start low and work up

200 grn semi wadcutter  by  Ibeji

4.1 grn of promo

large pistol primer #300   CCI

seated to an OAL of 1.248

It depends.

For bullseye type shooting, it doesn't matter if you can watch your bullets fly to the paper as long as the load is accurate. It doesn't matter if they cycle your gun, because even in the rapid fire events you could hand charge every round.

For "practical" type competition you have about 4 more major points to worry about.