Norseman

Questions on parts for milspec AR

I'm a newb to the AR. Just got my first earlier this month. I went with the Stag Arms Model 3L cause I'm a lefty. Now some of the reviews I've read and watched say "make sure you use milspec parts if you do any modifications."

I want to add an ambi charging handle and an ambi mag release.

I'm looking at the BCM GUNFIGHTER CHARG HNDL 556 AMBI and the Norgon ambi-catch.

I don't see "milspec" in their description so does that mean I can't use them?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yes you can use them, as far as I'm concerned the whole "milspec" thing is basically meaningless at this point.  It is doubly meaningless for you as there are no milspec lefty parts like the mirrored receiver, bolt, etc.

Now what I DON'T understand is why are you adding ambi controls to a lefty gun if you are lefty? Is there something wrong with the way it works for you?

The only thing really "Lefty" is the ejection port and forward assist. All the controls are like a righty gun. I don't mind the safety release, and since I've always shot righty ARs I am used to the mag release and charging handle being righty but I want to be able to charge and release the mag with my support hand and not have to move my trigger hand.

The only thing that would make sense is the buffer tube. There are two types that have different dimensions, milspec and commercial. You want to match the stock version to the tube type you have.

The only thing that would make sense is the buffer tube. There are two types that have different dimensions, milspec and commercial. You want to match the stock version to the tube type you have.

Probably that is what I had in the back of my head that made me question this. Thanks.

Cool. Yea, besides that, the term "milspec" is unfortunately loosely thrown around as a marketing term.