Fallen Knight

Buying Banned Assault Rifle and Hi-Cap Mags Out of State

Hi All,

Been a while since I posted, I've happily relocated to PA for dental school. However, at some point I will be moving back to Nazi Jersey. Quick question, after I move back to NJ, could I still buy an "evil" weapon, and just keep it in a locker out of state? Or will I always have to comply with NJ's bogus list as long as I'm an NJ resident? Also, could I still buy hi cap mags out of state, say if I'm visiting FL and keep all of this in a locker, or other rental property out of state? Thanks a ton for your time, my sincerest apologies if this has been posted. Cheers!

What you own out of state is none of NJ's business. However with long guns by federal law you can purchase out of state but must meet the requirements of both the selling state and NJ. So good luck trying to buy a NJ "assault weapon" out of state.  What you build out of state and kept out of state is none of NJ's business either! Ya hafta think a little about that last statement.

You can keep any New Jersey banned firearm or magazine over 15 rounds in any state its legal if you're in New Jersey resident. Friends of mine moved their "assault weapons" out of state when the ban went into effect. How you acquire these things is a different story. You've relocated to PA so I guess you have a PA dl. Just go and buy what you want. If you still have a NJ dl a dealer really can't sell you a banned in NJ gun. Most places will just sell you magazines although I've heard some dealers in PA won't sell a NJ resident magazines over 15 rds. You could order magazines from anywhere and have them shipped to your PA address.

Remember NJ law basically stops at its borders. The one exception is if you buy a long gun from a dealer it needs to be NJ compliant.

Remember NJ law basically stops at its borders. The one exception is if you buy a long gun from a dealer it needs to be NJ compliant.