koontz946

Trying to decide on a bolt action .308

I'm trying to decide on a .308 rifle. The rifle will be my first bolt action purchase.

I've been researching this buy for a few months, and the Rem 700 platform has definitely come up the most. Unfortunately, when I started my search, Remington had just issued the recall on the XMP trigger. The rifle I wanted, and may still wind up getting, was the 700P LTR, which has the 40X trigger. I was told that, due to the recall on the XMP, everyone was buying just the 40X trigger systems, so no LTRs were available. Great timing!

As far as what the rifle will be used for:

-Target @ 100 - 300 yds primarily

-Hunting (never hunted before, but I have the opportunity to through family/friends)

I also looked at the Mossberg MVP Patrol (pretty sure that was the model) and one thing it had that I haven't seen on other rifles is fixed sights.

I'm at about a $2000 budget for rifle and accessories (bipod would be nice, scope and rings are a must)... I've been hawking sniperhide's classifieds and good Lord do those rigs get pricey!

Any other models I should look into? I know Savage and Ruger are reputable companies but I rarely see them come up as suggestions.

Any advice, questions, or suggestions are welcome... Thanks!

Savage is IMHO the most accurate out of the box and competitively priced.

I don't like the Accustock or the bolt release down by the trigger guard either.

The model 12 is their premier rifle. Out to 300 I'm sure any out of the box Savage will suit your purpose.

Here's a nice combo that won't break the bank...Model: 16/116 Trophy Hunter XP

What's your budget?

It may be a little heavy but don't rule out a Springfield M1A. You can find composite stock for about $1300 or walnut for $1400. $500-$600 for a good optic and you're still in under budget.

Check out what I found on GunBroker.com!

http://www.gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewItem.aspx?Item=481411325

This signature is AWESOME!!!