Sign in to follow this  
Stonecoldchavez

Some handgun suggestions

Hello all-

Now that my permits are in and I used the first one on the SW 686+, some of you here have gotten my on the 1911 kick too. :) I am looking at a few mid-entry models (no Wilson Combat, Les Baer, Nighthawk, etc. models). I am a newbie to 1911's and only know from what I have read here from all of you. I am looking at a few for my 2nd permit purchase. Looking between $700-1000 realistically. If the 1911 has better features out of the box, than I would be willing to spend in the higher range. For my 3rd permit choice I may consider and I am looking at another revolver.

I will list my choices below and would like some suggestions, both pro's and con's about each, full size vs. commander size, etc. Thank you.

1911's

Ruger SR 1911
Springfield Range Officer (looked at this already. Slide was not very smooth; seemed rough)
Para Ordnance Expert or Elite
Remington 1911 R1
Sig Sauer Nightmare
Sig Sauer Tacops (looked at this one and the slide was smooth as butter)

Revolvers     Preferably .357

SW Bodyguard 38
SW J-frame snubby
Ruger LCR or LCRx
Ruger Vaquero
Umberti 1873 Cattleman

Thank you,
S.