I love to cook and do so often. About 10 years ago my father gave me a set of Henckel (single gray guy, forged, riveted, spain), The following year I bought him the Wusthoff Grand Prix (molded handle,forged). Anyway I like them both with the Henckel being a little stiffer, thats also the one I use because its at my home. What do you guys (or gals) use in the kitchen and how do you like them?

I do want to get a sushi knife as a double edge knife doesnt work well for sushi. The Shun line seems to be top notch, pretty sure thats what Gordon Ramsay endorsed prior to Royal Doulton retaining his endorsement.

When I cooked for a living I picked up a set of wood handled Lamson Sharp knives. Still have them and it's been close to 20 years since I stepped foot in a professional kitchen. I love them. I've had them professionally sharpened maybe 3 times. I just tune them on a steel. They do get used. Honestly my wife uses them and beats the crap out of them. They're just a great set of knives.

For a sushi knife, I'm out. Never had a need for one. I'd probably get a nice ceramic if I could find one as it wouldn't be something that I would use a lot. Good luck!

C

Home knives are all Henckles, some going back 30 years with an array of inexpensive Chinese carbon steel Tong Ma's {Clevers} over the years.

My Knife roll that has traveled with me for the past 20 years holds a 10 inch Global chefs,8 inch Henckles chefs,8 inch Misino Nikiri and a Global paring knife.

Nothing is more disheartening than going on vacation or cooking at a friends house and being faced with dull knives or even worse... dull premium knives in that ubiquitous wooden block perched on the kitchen counter like some trophy to your "good taste".

If you are looking for good quality knives at a decent price, the Chicago Cutlery Centurion line is well reviewed: http://www.amazon.com/Chicago-Cutlery-Centurion-8-Inch-Chefs/dp/B000277Y96